Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät - Didaktik

Future teachers for the planet

Building Powerful knowledge for better ESD in teacher training

 

Online symposium (jointly hosted by Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and The University of Melbourne)

Day 1

Saturday, 5 December 2020

Berlin (DE)
10:00 - 13:00 (GMT +1)

Melbourne (AU)
20:00 - 23:00 (GMT +11)

Day 2

Saturday, 23 January 2021

Berlin (DE)
11:00 - 14:00 (GMT +1)

Melbourne (AU)
21:00 - 24:00 (GMT +11)

 

 

In partnership with the International Geographical Union’s Commission for Geographical Education (IGU-CGE), this e-symposium focuses on the imperative to build powerful knowledge of Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) in teacher preparation.

Teachers have a key role in helping young people navigate the response to the climate emergency, and are faced with tensions between building powerful knowledge of ESD and urgent action.

This e-symposium addresses the negotiations between subject-specific knowledge and cross-curricular adjectival education, such as Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). Drawing upon current debates in Geography Education around powerful (disciplinary) knowledge and adjectival educations, particularly ESD, the e-symposium puts teacher training into the spotlight and explores how future Geography teachers can be best equipped with knowledge to organize deep geographical learning based on expert knowledge with strong cross-curricular components.

How can future Geography teachers link ESD in particular and other adjectival educations in general, to powerful geographical knowledge? To do so, this symposium will collect ideas, challenges, and solutions from Geography teacher training from countries across the globe.

 

 

 

 

a cooperation between

 


Icons by fontawesome (CC BY 4.0 License); modified