Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences - Geography Department


Programme of the European Union for student's exchange

The Erasmus Programme (European Region Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students) is a European Union (EU) student exchange programme established in 1987. Its name is a tribute to Erasmus of Rotterdam, a European Renaissance humanist.

The Geographic department of Humboldt university to Berlin has got in the frame of the Erasmus Programme many bilateral agreements with partner universities (see map).

Erasmus-Partneruniversitäten des Geographischen Instituts in Kartenform



After a successful application at your home university. Your university has to nominate you for an ERASMUS stay at Humboldt University (HU).

Please coordinate the standards for the learning agreement with your ERASMUS coordinator. You can get he corresponding forms from your home university.

All students are allowed to attend the same subject that you enrol in your home university. All available courses of study are listed in our Schedule of lectures.

If the faculty accepted your application:

  • Bachelor (first three years of study): You may enrol for a maximum of two subjects at Humboldt (e.g. 1. Geography, 2. Social Sciences)
  • Master: You may enrol for one subject only. (e.g. 1. Geography)

Language requirements: Level B2 in German


Application Period for Erasmus students

Winter semester: 1 April – 31 May
Summer semester: 1 September – 30 November

Online application process