Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences - Geography Department

Portrait of the Department

Kopf der Alexander von Humboldt Statue im Foyer des Geographischen Institutes


The Geography Department belongs to the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Faculty of Mathematics and Science II which consists of four departments.. It is located on the Campus Adlershof, an integral part of the “Science and Technology Park Berlin-Adlershof”. Hosting nine labs the department covers the whole thematic range of the geography discipline:

  • Applied Geography / Town Planning
  • Biogeography
  • Geography of Soils and Quarternary Morphology
  • Didactics of Geography
  • Geomatics
  • Climatology
  • Cultural and social geography
  • Landscape ecology
  • Economic geography

The Geography Department is embedded into the broader academic landscape of the Berlin-Brandenburg capital region where it maintains tight links to several other research institutesin the form of joint professorships.►►►